top of page

Pit Bull Stereotyping

In the United States of America the Pit Bull is widely considered as the number one most dangerous dog breed. In various “Top 10 most dangerous dogs in the world” or “Top 10 most dangerous dogs in America”, the Pit Bull” is continually ranked at number one. According to dogtime.com the dog breed most people consider as a Pit Bull isn't a breed, but a term used to describe the American Pit Bull Terrier, the Bull Terrier, the American Staffordshire Terrier, and the Staffordshire Bull Terrier; which leads people to categorize any Pit Bull looking dog as a dog who is vicious and that has no mercy towards anyone or anything. While it is true that some pit bulls can be quite aggressive that is not always the case 100 percent of the time. So I am here to explain to you how not all Pit Bull type dogs are not always out on a mission to cause harm.

My dog, Rocky, relaxing

It is a common knowledge amongst people that it is possible for Pit Bulls to be aggressive, but what other people don’t talk about is that so can any kind of dog breed. How an animal is raised is how they will act due to them not being taught to be any other type of way. I currently own a 13 year old Rottweiler, Lab/Pit Bull mix named Rocky Balboa. A big mistake that my family and I made was not exposing him to many other dogs at a young age. This caused him to be aggressive towards certain dogs therefore we could never bring him to the dog beach or allow him to greet other dogs while on walks. This was 100 percent at the fault of our hands and not due to his genes. On the other hand, Rocky has to be the most gentle giant I have ever seen he loves people, especially my family. In the past year he has become able to come in contact with other dogs because we took our time with him and introduced him to other dogs in the correct way that we always should have.

Rocky says hello!

To start with the facts, the real reason why people are so closed minded about Pit bull is because they truly do not understand why some Pit Bull can be so aggressive. Throughout my life both my mother and father have always been against my desire to own the closest I could get to a pure Pit Bull once I am older and have my own life. They both always try and tell me that no matter how you train a Pit Bull they will always have some kind of uncontrollable aggression towards people or other dogs due to how they were bred. However, these “facts” that they have tried to throw at me are not completely true, according to aspca.org “Some Pit Bulls were selected and bred for their fighting ability...It doesn’t mean that they can’t be around other dogs or that they’re unpredictably aggressive. Other pit bulls were specifically bred for work and companionship. These dogs have long been popular family pets, noted for their gentleness, affection and loyalty.” This fact that has been stated by one of the most trusted animal organizations contradicts what I have been taught in my personal life as well as many other peoples lives. All I hope to do is for people to learn from this article and open up their minds about the Pit Bull bred and for people to stop blaming their species as a whole for incidents that are not caused by their genetics.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page